PawTales – You inspire me !

So , time for this week’s  ‘You Inspire Me‘ story! I know I am a bit behind schedule,  but this one needed extra love as this one is for the animal lovers!! I have always believed & said that inspiration lies not just in big names but in daily lives, in our friends, family, acquaintances and in each one of us … atleast  that was the thought behind doing the weekly feature.

Introducing PawTales and it’s wonder owner  Vidhi Malla !!

 

I have known Vidhi for a few years and after following her love for dog on social media and being a dog lover myself, I knew she was a perfect addition to the ‘You Inspire Me’ interview series.

Vidhi is the kind of person who uses her wit, thoughtfulness and mad skills so that the rest of us can make a difference in the lives of animals. If you get a chance to join in one of her ‘PawTales’ projects- Just do it. You’ll come away feeling empowered and smarter than you were an hour ago.

  

Vidhi received a masters degree in English Literature from New Delhi’s Jesus and Mary college and then went ahead to pursue a media relation and communication degree.  While, she was always associated with animal welfare and used to work with a number of NGOs in New Delhi, her work literally went to the dogs in 2015, when suddenly it seemed that the big corporate jobs were unable to hold much value to her. She wanted to do something that she loved and also help every dog within sight who was asking for her help. She took the hint and PawTales came into existence!  Since then she has been using her skills and knowledge to build a safe place for canine children. Vidhi lives in New Delhi and spends her free time with her brood of eleven canine kids

Let’s get to know V and a slice of PawTales :

Q-What is your idea of perfect happiness Vidhi?

V says – A room full of dogs sleeping peacefully after a full meal

Q- What is your animal spirit and why? 
V says – I am unsure because so many of them are in me but I would love to be a horse… strong and free.

Q- Your proudest achievement so far?

V says – Starting my own venture. Starting PawTales!

Q-Who are your heroes in real life?

V says – All those people who try and work hard to ensure that their next generation is better than them. I have seen many people, including my parents who have worked day and night to ensure that my sibling and I get the best upbringing they could afford. People do not value their roots much but I firmly believe that you should know your roots and ensure that you do whatever you can to give back.

 

 

Q-What inspired your PawTales Project? 

V says – PawTales came from two simple realisations :

  1. There are dime-a-dozen baordings in New Delhi/National Capital Region (NCR)  but very few are driven by passion for animals
  2. Animal rescue is tough. While everyone talks and does rescues in the animal activist world, no one actually fund those rescues

With PawTales, I wanted to have a business that was driven by passion and would help me earn enough to contribute towards animals. O When I was working in the corporate world, I had the money to support rescues but no time to do so. Now, with PawTales, I am knee deep in animal related engagements including rescues, fund-raising events and awareness work

 

Q- Tell us about your PawTales project?

V says – I have always loved animals; especially dogs. Since the time I can remember, I always had a pet at home. This love for dogs turned into passion for doing something different for dogs. In my years with the corporate world, I was often discouraged because I was unable to find the time to do what I loved which involved doing rescues or simply spending time with my canine children. Everytime I would quit my job, my father would tell me to do something of my own which was related to dogs. Then about 4 years back, the idea of opening a small shop got stuck in my head but I never had the finances to start over. So, I kept working in the corporate world. About a year back, a chanced conversation led me to start some work with a firm in petcare domain. While I was still doing communication for the firm; it helped me gauge the petcare market and understand its requirements. It took me some time to garner the courage to get started on my own but family support and encouragement helped me take the leap of faith. I brought in all my savings and got some funding from my family to start my pet boarding- PawTales.

  

PawTales started operations on May 01 2015 and have successfully boarded around 10 canine kids. The proof of the putting is that we have got repeated boarding; so a child who has stayed earlier with us for around 3 days has come again to us for a span of 15 days. PawTales has a simple focus of providing a place to canine children where they are happy and free. We have a no leash policy and we never tie a child. I want to build PawTales into a chain of pet boardings where pet parents can leave their children without worrying about their health or well-being. It is a place that a crazy-pet parent like me can trust and have faith in. We have 24×7 attendants, who monitor children closely simple because we cannot risk any child. PawTales should be synonymous with dependable pet boarding, is what I aspire for.

 

Q-Why do you think you identify with animals so closely? 

V says – ​Since my childhood, I have been taught to respect animals. We (my sibling and I) were scolded for throwing stones at animals and applauded for filling their water bowls. Also, I always had a dog and was made to feel responsible for him which led me to be the way I am. My mother used to always say that while humans can complain and tell you about their issues, animals cannot so you had to be more careful about their feelings. I think somewhere that statement has got engrained in my heart and I still follow it when dealing with animals.

  

Q-Where has the project taken you and how do you feel about it now? 

V says – In the past one month, PawTales has helped me grow personally and become stronger and more independent. I believe the stress that I feel now is extremely constructive and pushes me to find avenues to deal with the situation. It is amazing for your own venture helps to get more involved with other people and your community and become more receptive. I trust PawTales is my route to nirvana

Q What do you want people to take away from PawTales?

V says -I never believed in this statement before but after 1 month of doing what I love and getting paid for it, I can safely say that if you follow your passion and dream, money will follow you

Q- Do you feel like you’ve made a difference?

V says – Yes, but there is still so much more to do. I have been making little differences to the lives of canine children since the last 15 years but with an opportunity like PawTales, there is scope of doing something bigger

Q-What would you say to people that want to follow their passions but don’t know how to? 

V says – Some bit of planning and not over-thinking is important but at the end of the day if you so not take the plunge you will not know how cold the water is so take the plunge and believe in God and yourself  !!

Q-What is your pet’s most treasured possession?

V says – I have too many pets to share any single child’s possession but my eldest adopted kid Leo has an obsession with balls and squeaky toys. The un-said rule is that every time we went to the vet, we would buy a ball or a squeaky toy no matter how annoyed my mother got.

V’s Five Fun Facts –

1. Who is V’s celebrity resemblance?

I don’t think I resemble anyone. I guess I am just the crazy me.

 2. Which is V’s most favourite place in this earth?

Home

 3. Three people to whom V wants to write open letters –

PMO Mr. Narendra Modi for the state of Stray dogs in the country

Mr. Ratan Tata for the wonderful work he is doing with the canine kids at Bombay House and 

God for thanking him for all the things he has given me and those he has not

 4. If V is the PM of India for a month –

Fire every minister above the age of 50 and hire people from the start-up community

5. V’s message to all

God is watching because in the end God is the only person that you have to answer to!

 Thanks Vidhi aka PawTales . Your job is inspiring and enriching. The pictures of these little beauties makes me want one. Next time I am in Delhi, expect a visitor Vidhi 🙂

So Delhi/ NCR Friends – If you want a doggy Creche for your next holiday, or day dog boarding services, if you want to adopt a dog, or just rescue one in your residential colony, or even just visit a dog and give her a hand, PawTales is your onestop shop! 

To contact PawTales- please visit https://www.facebook.com/pages/PawTales/1394419024205959

Or contact her on – vidhimalla@gmail.com or 09560103078

Hope you enjoyed this story and if you are an animal lover and have been wanted to do this since sages, just didn’t have the time, find the time!! If V can do it , so can you!!

Come back for more and leave me your comments , suggestions and love

Anu xx

14 comments

  1. Reblogged this on The Doodle Scoop and commented:

    So , time for this week’s ‘You Inspire Me‘ story! I know I am a bit behind schedule, but this one needed extra love as this one is for the animal lovers!! I have always believed & said that inspiration lies not just in big names but in daily lives, in our friends, family, acquaintances and in each one of us … atleast that was the thought behind doing the weekly feature.

    Introducing PawTales and it’s wonder owner Vidhi Malla !! I have known Vidhi for a few years and after following her love for dog on social media and being a dog lover myself, I knew she was a perfect addition to the ‘You Inspire Me’ interview series.

    Vidhi is the kind of person who uses her wit, thoughtfulness and mad skills so that the rest of us can make a difference in the lives of animals. If you get a chance to join in one of her ‘PawTales’ projects- Just do it. You’ll come away feeling empowered and smarter than you were an hour ago. ..Read more and Have fun xx

    Like

  2. Very inspiring indeed. A great life isn’t about great big thing; it’s about small things that make a big difference. Nicely written Anushree Ganguly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

